1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Dear Theo: I GOT THE JOB! (this is a wishful thinking post)

Discussion in 'Jobseekers' started by anon3767, May 29, 2011.

1. Theo (and anyone else who is interested!)
    I have been applying for jobs since I qualified in 2008. I managed to do my NQT year on a 1 year maternity contract but since then it's been bitty supply work. I despise doing it and have been trying for years to try and either secure a permanent teaching position or get a job outside of teaching. I literally have had no work for the past few months on supply and have got by on selling stuff on Ebay; reducing our mortgage and not spending a single penny on anything other than house things. When the money goes out on Tuesday, I will have £62 to my name and I have an empty tank of petrol so after filling that up, I will have about £15 - I've never been so broke in my life (no exaggeration!)
    Tomorrow (I know - bank holiday Monday in a school!) I have my 16th job interview in 3 years. I physically can't stand the thought of spending the rest of the evening mentally preparing; going to the school; looking around; being very positive and smiley; really feeling like I like the school and going away feeling like I may actually have a chance. To getting home and jumping every time my phone makes a noise; answer the phone to an apologetic sounding person saying "unfortunately...." when my heart sinks and I politely listen while they list of a string of reasons why I didn't get the job.
    So.....I'm doing something different.