1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Dear Theo, I am an EFL teacher looking to make a career in independent schools - which qualification would make more attractive to employers: the Inde

Discussion in 'Independent' started by SWB206, Aug 23, 2011.

1. Hi Theo,

I'm not sure if the schools you have led have had large international contingents, and the resultant need for teachers of EFL (also known as EAL/ESL/ESOL), but I'm hoping you can help regardless.

I am about to embark upon my third year in EFL teaching, and my second in a British independent school. I feel very fortunate to be in this postion as the levels of professionalism, prestige and pay are so much higher than typical EFL jobs. I am conscious, however, that my qualification - Cambridge ESOL's CELTA - is relatively lightweight. Not an issue if I stay at my current school for the rest of my life but if I were no longer needed here, or wanted to move elsewhere, I'm not sure it would be enough to find a similar position.

As such I am looking to improve my qualifications and my employability. As far as I can see I have two options: the Independent PGCE or Cambridge ESOL's DELTA. My own impression is that the DELTA would be more academically challenging: it is obviously more subject-specific and involves a written exam and writing a research paper. I think the Independent PGCE, however, is more suited to the secondary school environment I want to remain in. What's your opinion, Theo? If you were a headmaster looking to employ an EFL teacher which would you be more impressed by?

For info here are the specifications of each course:

Independent PGCE - http://www.buckingham.ac.uk/humanities/pgce/independentpgce