1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Dear Theo, How do I apply for a teaching job in UK

Discussion in 'Jobseekers' started by profdeciencias, Dec 29, 2011.

1. I am a Portuguese citizen who was born in South Africa and I have taught Science according to the National Curriculum for England in international schools based in Portugal. I did so for about 4 years.
    Currently I am teaching in a public school in the area of Algarve, Portugal and I have been doing it for about 3 years.
    In 2005 I spent some time in UK doing supply teaching.
    Even though my higher education was taken in Portugal I am a fully qualified teacher (QTS). I would like to know how to apply to schools in the UK and if the whole precess is done online or by a job agency of some kind?.
    Many thanks,
    Rui

2. look on a teaching job website, e.g. TES or the county council that you want, find a job you like and either apply on line or contact the school for an application pack. It's pretty straight forward, so don't worry.

3. Good luck, but there are not enough jobs for the british teachers so why applying for here when you are currently working?
    Yes, I am looking for a long term permanent post and am bitter and twisted!

4. TheoGriff

TheoGriff Star commenter

Yes, you will find it hard. Very hard.
    There are a large number of unemployed teachers in this country, and despite the EU regulations on movement of workers, schools are going to give preference to applicants who are UK trained and UK experienced, because of the horrible Damocles Sword of Ofsted that is hanging over their head.