1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

dear Theo , honesty please!

Discussion in 'Jobseekers' started by rebeccafound, Feb 5, 2012.

1. Hi Im on UPS 1 and had a break from full time teaching for 3 years to have a family. I have been doing supply though for the last 3 years, but not a lot since January. What chance do I have to get into a part time job? I went round a school to look the other day regarding a part time job but there was an inside nqt applicant...was not inspired to go for job really with me being over threshold. Objective advice welcomed! Do you recommend doing voluntary work for people who may have had a break having children trying to get more regular experience? Thanks!

2. PS I dont do a lot of supply as I cant always get the care for my one year old as and when. And dont want to really mess him around by putting him in a nursery , he wont know if hes coming or going. I did this with my other child and he felt insecure with not knowing days I worked, etc.

3. Lara mfl 05

Lara mfl 05 Star commenter

Actually, in the past I've always started off by volunteering, got myself known in a school, bben offered some supply which led to some longer-term work, only to have to repeat the exercise all over again after the long-trem post ended and I needed to get myself known for general supply again.
    Now, though I've just offered myself to 4 schools and no-one has been willing to get back to me.
    Being mature,experienced and expensive is difficult and of course with little recent experience posts with responsiblity, which would mean we're worth the 'extra cost' are difficult to apply for.