1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Dear Theo - help, my job being re advertised.

Discussion in 'Jobseekers' started by ellie_rose, Apr 21, 2012.

1. ellie_rose

ellie_rose New commenter

Hi Theo,

I have been teaching in a primary school for 4 months. I was employed after the school was put into special measures and it was explained that they hoped my background in drama and literacy would help bring the children's writing levels up before SATs. I am an NQT and was searching for a job for several months before this. The school is becoming an academy in September and at first I was told that my contract was temporary but only as a formality and it would be made permanent once the academy was set up. However, I've now been told that my job is going to be re advertised by law. At first I was quite worried, as I am doing a good job and I really don't want to leave now I've settled in and feel like I know what I'm doing. The head teachers haven't discussed the situation with me and nothing has been said. I've just been told my job is up and I can reapply if I want.

Obviously I want to stay and I have really made a difference in the short time I've been there. The children's literacy has improved quite rapidly and they are expected to achieve what they should in their SATs. I am going to reapply but I'm uncertain about what will happen.