1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Dear Theo - Follow up email/letter after interview...

Discussion in 'Jobseekers' started by glenn_xp, Jun 18, 2011.

1. glenn_xp

glenn_xp New commenter

Is it a good idea to send a follow up letter or email to the person who interviewed you?
    I've read online that it is a good idea to thank them for their time and express an interest in the job and underline again your suitablility for the role.
    I've never done this before and am not sure if it would actually impress or annoy.
    Most likely my letter to them would probably cross in the post with their rejection letter to me leaving me feeling a bit of a berk. But still, might be worth a try.
    Anyone have thoughts on this?

2. glenn_xp

glenn_xp New commenter

Is it a good idea to send a follow up letter or email to the person who interviewed you?
    I've read online that it is a good idea to thank them for their time and express an interest in the job and underline again your suitablility for the role.
    I've never done this before and am not sure if it would actually impress or annoy.
    Most likely my letter to them would probably cross in the post with their rejection letter to me leaving me feeling a bit of a berk. But still, might be worth a try.
    Anyone have thoughts on this?

3. TheoGriff

TheoGriff Star commenter

Ha!
    I can make a guess here.
    Have a look at the site that told you this. It is either (a) an American site or (b) a Business site. It might even be both!
    It is most definitely NOT an English education site.
    If you did that to a school, they would think that you were seriously weird. Seriously weird.