1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Dear Theo - First interview in an independent school?!?

Discussion in 'Jobseekers' started by squirlywhirly, May 1, 2011.

1. I have my first ever teaching interview on Wednesday and it's in an independent high achieving girls' school. I'm a MFL student teacher, who went to an independent girls' school herself, but even so, I don't know what to expect at an interview!

The job advert was a little confusing, as they said they wanted French or German to A Level and Spanish to KS4. I can do French to A Level, and in theory German as well (although I haven't taught it on my placements), but I don't do Spanish. At all. Am therefore a bit surprised they've asked me to interview, since they said Spanish was 'essential'.

I can, however, teach Mandarin Chinese to KS4. Do you think this is what has attracted them to me? I'm not really sure what they'll focus on during the interview.

Have to teach a 25 minute French lesson to a Y8 mixed set. Am yet to plan. Any advice on any differences in teaching styles in the independent sector? Do these schools frown upon games, for example? I use a lot of these with my own Y8s, but my placement is in a state school.

I also haven't been informed of the itinerary of the day, whether it's interview or lesson first, or how many candidates are being interviewed. Is this normal? Have a second interview on Thursday at a state school which has told me all of this.

Thanks in advance for any help!

2. I have my first ever teaching interview on Wednesday and it's in an independent high achieving girls' school. I'm a MFL student teacher, who went to an independent girls' school herself, but even so, I don't know what to expect at an interview!