1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Dear Theo - Failing to get an NQT position

Discussion in 'Jobseekers' started by BRockcliffe, Mar 25, 2012.

1. I graduated last year
    and I’ve spent the this year doing supply. I have secured a long term supply
    position till the end of the year but I would like my own class. I have failed
    to get an interview for the many positions I’ve applied for I always rewrite my
    personal statement for each school, I include a summery at the end but somehow
    I&rsquo;m still doing something wrong!! And I don&rsquo;t know what it is.</font>

<font size="3" face="Times New Roman">

</font>Also on application
    forms it asked for the last two heads of schools I&rsquo;ve worked in so I give the
    current school I&rsquo;m at and my last teaching practice school. I know that one of
    the supply agencies had trouble with getting a reference from my last teaching
    practice with them not remembering who I am. Could this be the reason I&rsquo;m not
    getting interviews? What should I do as application forms ask for references
    from the most recent employers?</font>

2. TheoGriff

TheoGriff Star commenter

Hope that you're spelling it correctly as a summAry for a start . . .
    Frustrating for you - and I can't tell you long distance either . . . perhaps you need to e-mail Julia on advice@tes.co.uk and ask about the TES Application Review service, where one of my colleafgues looks at your letter for you.
    I doubt it, as most schools decide who to shortlist, and THEN ask for references, so they wouldn't know about the refusal to write a reference until after they had invited you to interview.