1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Dear Theo - experienced teacher looking for new role

Discussion in 'Jobseekers' started by SJHF, Feb 9, 2012.

1. <font size="2">Dear Theo, </font><font size="2">I am a qualified teacher and my teaching history runs as follows:</font><font size="2">Mathematics - NQT in a state school (1 year) (obtaining QTS) </font><font size="2">Physics and Mathematics - 5 years in a small independent school (I was made Head of Physics as the department was successful and we recruited another member of staff. I also taught mathematics). </font><font size="2">I am now a lecturer in Electrical and Electronic engineering in an FE College. This is the subject of my degree (MEng) and is closely linked to the above two topics. I am also an A Level Physics examiner. </font><font size="2">Owing to personal circumstances, I am now looking to relocate to the South West of England to teach. I seem to find that the jobs I am applying for are in a wide variety of schools/colleges and topics but that I am coming across some problems either before interview or after interview: </font><font size="2"> 1. There seems to be a real desire to only recruit NQT's for the roles</font> <font size="2">2. My 'extra-curricular' activities do not include sport (although I have been really involved in school productions, both on the technical and performing side!) so I am not interesting to the independent schools. </font>
    <font size="2">3. Schools seem to think that I don't have expertise in any area. </font>