1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Dear Theo et al - not applying to move up pay scale to help job search ?

Discussion in 'Jobseekers' started by lauz106, Aug 22, 2015.

1. lauz106

lauz106 New commenter

Hi Theo and everyone.

I'm an MFL teacher who has just completed my 4th year of teaching, and my 4th year at my current school. I'm looking to move to a different school, but am not looking for promotion (I just enjoy classroom teaching really). I would like a January 2016 start if I can get one.

Since last year we have to apply each year, around October time, if we want to move up the academy's pay scale. I'm not sure whether to do this this autumn as I feel like I'm getting too expensive for a classroom teacher to be attractive to other schools. I have exceeded my GCSE targets and had outstanding observations last year so I'm pretty sure I would move up if I applied. I don't mind staying at the pay rate I'm on if it means I might be more successful with applications. However, obviously I might not get another job and then I would be earning relatively less than other teachers at my school. Also it might look on my application form that I haven't moved up due to poor performance, even if I have chosen not to.

I did make a few applications last year and got invited to interview for most of them. I guess this shows the schools were willing to consider semi-experienced teachers. On the other hand, of the 2 interviews I went to I know that at least one took on an NQT. Now that I will be a 5th year teacher the pay difference would be even more significant.

Hope this makes sense, thanks for your help!

2. TheoGriff

TheoGriff Star commenter

Yes but . . .