1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Dear Theo: Downheartened by poor reference.

Discussion in 'Jobseekers' started by CharliLynx, Feb 27, 2011.

1. Hi Theo,

I'm a trainee teacher on a Ba(hons) starting to apply for jobs. In my second (of three) years, I had a terrible school placement, to the point where the school has been removed from the university's rotation due to the experience that I and another student teacher had. Unfortunately, we didn't complain until late into the placement when it become apparent the school intended to fail us both and we both made the decision to stick through the final 3 weeks rather than change and restart the entire 9 week block - A decision that is now coming back to haunt us. My colleague achieved a D from an A in the first year, and I achieved an E from an A- in the first year.

I've started applying for jobs and was instructed by the university not to put my school on a reference list, but to list them on my experience. Instead, I was advised to put my manager from a tuition camp I worked for over the summer on, being my last paid childcare role. I did this, and applied for jobs. I was rejected without interview for a job I felt really positive about, and rang them to inquire why; They had chased the school through my history as part of the Safer Recruiting guidelines and they had slated me in reference. The university had given me a good reference and I know that had they approached the camp as requested they would have given me one too.