1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Dear Theo - compromise agreements again

Discussion in 'Jobseekers' started by alexanderosman, Mar 2, 2012.

1. alexanderosman

alexanderosman Occasional commenter

I'm in a real dilemma about where to go next.
    I know that I am a good teacher and I still have a lot of enthusiasm for teaching. However, looking at job adverts I can't imagine how I will possibly get another teaching job. How do I explain my reason for leaving? What if the head is asked questions that aren't answered in my agreed reference? What if I'm asked questions about my previous employment that I can't answer due to the CA?
    I feel as if I would be deceiving any school I applied to, which in truth I would. I'm a very truthful person and would feel awful having not to talk about certain details eg. that I wasn't actually currently working at the school despite still being employed by them. I also have no access to the evidence that I would collate in a portfolio, so if asked for one wouldn't be able to provide it. I'm not confident about applying to schools that ask for an outstanding practitioner - recently my observations have been satisfactory to good. I didn't agree with the judgments but that is what they were, so I'm not an outstanding teacher. I can't afford to spend months not working whilst applying for jobs and know I will have to visit every school and complete a lot of applications if I'm to have any chance of a job, which is a full time job in itself.