1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Dear Theo: applying in a school for special needs or as a French teacher in London

Discussion in 'Jobseekers' started by cathiejayakumar, Jan 5, 2011.

1. Dear Theo,
    I'm an English qualified teacher in France and will move to London in September 2011. I would love to work either as a French teacher, or as a teacher for children with disabilities. In order to get an equivalence of my status (I've passed the CAPES exam which is more or less the equivalence of a PGCE in England, but for secondary school teaching), I will have to contact the GTC and send the documents they need, translated in English. They will I think grant me this equivalence
    I have been teaching English for special needs for three years now in France.
    I have some questions about jobseeking, since I really don't know how teachers recruitement works in England:
    1) I've noticed that they are some SEN schools in London, but I don't know how to be noticed by these schools.And they probably don't need a teacher... What qualifications do I need to teach in these school? How can I arrange a visit, and when do you think I can start to have an interview?
    2) How can I get help to write a CV and cover letter, to be prepared for successful interviews?
    Many thanks for your help.
    Cathie Jayakumar

2. Dear Theo,