1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Dear Theo - Applying for the role of SENCO

Discussion in 'Jobseekers' started by Shanna, Jun 26, 2015.

1. Dear Theo,

I have been working in the same school since 2001 and recently the post of SENCO has become available of which I am thinking of applying for. Unfortunately I have no idea where to begin on a Letter of application to support the form as it has been so long. Any advice / tips would be much appreciated.

2. TheoGriff

TheoGriff Star commenter

The first thing is to get the person specification and the job description. If there isn't one (some schools are like that!), then find a similar post on the TES Jobs and use that.

Then from that do an E.S. This will not be easy, it is the most difficult part of the whole process. It may well take you several hours to do it.

Step-by-step: How to write an E.S.

Once you've done that, then you start writing the accompanying letter of application, because now you know exactly what the school is looking for, and how you meet their needs. You will use some of what is in the E.S., choosing the most important features but expanded, and will have something about what is important to you in carrying out this job, your underlying philosophy.

One thing to be wary of: internal candidates often think I don't need to tell them that - they know what I do. But, yes, you DO need to tell them that, tell them everything, treat it exactly like an application to another school that doesn't know you, both in the application and the interview. That's where the E.S. is so useful, as it helps clarify your thoughts on what you achieve that is relevant to the post.