1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Dear Theo - applying for jobs in the UK after teaching abroad

Discussion in 'Jobseekers' started by anon3283, Jan 4, 2012.

1. Dear Theo,

I have been teaching abroad (Uk curriculum in an EU country) for just over 3 years now and for personal reasons I am moving home at the end of this academic year. Although I have taught from the National Curriculum, I have fallen behind with current teaching practice and have not received any formal training while I've been away. How should I approach this when applying for jobs at home? Can anybody point me in the direction of any websites etc where I can read up on current issues/ practices? How much is this likely to put off potential employers? I have had a look at the advice on the Overseas teachers forum but wondered if I could possibly ask you on here too!

Thank you so much in advance!

Rebecs :)

2. Dear Theo,

I have been teaching abroad (Uk curriculum in an EU country) for just over 3 years now and for personal reasons I am moving home at the end of this academic year. Although I have taught from the National Curriculum, I have fallen behind with current teaching practice and have not received any formal training while I've been away. How should I approach this when applying for jobs at home? Can anybody point me in the direction of any websites etc where I can read up on current issues/ practices? How much is this likely to put off potential employers? I have had a look at the advice on the Overseas teachers forum but wondered if I could possibly ask you on here too!

Thank you so much in advance!

Rebecs :)

3. TheoGriff

TheoGriff Star commenter