1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Dear Theo and others

Discussion in 'Jobseekers' started by anon3946, Feb 13, 2012.

1. Dear lovely people,
    As a PGCE student, I find myself often struggling to tailor a statement to a school. I don't have a massive wealth of experience to pick and choose from and I'm finding the statements are all very "samey"- especially where schools are only offering up a generic job description and little to no information about the department. Obviously, there are some things that are easily put in or taken out: EAL experience, Sixth Form experience, etc, but it still doesn't really read as if it's been tailored to that particular school. But when I do tailor them, I just seem to sound like a bit of an ***, really- "I notice you have students; guess what?! I've taught students!" (Minor hyperbole there, maybe!) How do I tailor without seeming like a blithering *** when I have little information to go on?

I did have a few more questions, but they've clean slipped my mind!! You can look forward to them once I regain some brain cells!
    Many thanks

2. blinked out words refer to me sounding a bit dim, no expletives, honestly!

3. littlemissraw

littlemissraw Occasional commenter

Have you looked at the Ofsted report? Googled the school for any activities that may have made the local press? (charity work, sport etc)If you can look round the school it might give you more things to put in there too...
    Good Luck x