1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Dear Theo and all...supply since graduated..

Discussion in 'Jobseekers' started by tweetypi88, May 3, 2012.

1. Hi there,
    Since getting my NQT almost 2 years ago I have been doing supply teaching. I wanted to do it for a year to gain experience and see what kind of schools I liked, preferred age group etc. However, now that I've been doing it for 2 years and haven't yet secured a permanent job is this going to put employers off? Who else is in this situation? Had anyone been doing supply for a long period of time before securing a job? Feeling a little down in the dumps!! Even though I haven't applied for THAT many jobs, I just have a feeling that any employer is going to wonder why I've not yet had a permanent job!!

2. Hi there,
    Since getting my NQT almost 2 years ago I have been doing supply teaching. I wanted to do it for a year to gain experience and see what kind of schools I liked, preferred age group etc. However, now that I've been doing it for 2 years and haven't yet secured a permanent job is this going to put employers off? Who else is in this situation? Had anyone been doing supply for a long period of time before securing a job? Feeling a little down in the dumps!! Even though I haven't applied for THAT many jobs, I just have a feeling that any employer is going to wonder why I've not yet had a permanent job!!

3. VelvetChalk

VelvetChalk New commenter