1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Dear Theo, always interviewed but never employed but told by my colleagues im an excellent teacher... what can i do?

Discussion in 'Jobseekers' started by skeptucator, Apr 11, 2011.

1. skeptucator

skeptucator Occasional commenter

Hi,
    I am having exactly the same problem and am currently an NQT on temporary contract. I've found that in many cases, the school already know who they are hiring... the whole interview procedure is just a front to make it look like they are being fair.
    For example, I imagine this was the case when you went for interview having been on supply there, they knew you and they liked you.
    I've lost every interview I've had to people on supply in the school already, or maternity cover, PGCE placements etc. One interview I went to the guy's wife was in the SLT!
    After days and weeks of prep for these interviews it is gutting to walk in and there is always an internal candidate or someone who knows the right people.
    How many interviews have you had? Keep positive, at least you're being shortlisted!
    Laura x

2. TheoGriff

TheoGriff Star commenter

No, Laura.
    No school would deliberately choose the second-best candidate. It is up to you to show them that you are the best.
    Is there any point going to interview if there is an internal candidate?
    Firstly, let's say a big Well Done to you for getting more than one interview.
    Times are hard, there are masses of unemployed teachers, and very few jobs around - between one quarter and one third FEWER jobs have been advertised this year compared to last. Getting an interview shows that you have done well, very well.