1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Dear Theo/ all, confused, is Indie for me?

Discussion in 'Independent' started by obie77, Mar 1, 2011.

1. obie77

obie77 New commenter

Dear Theo/all,
    I am a teacher in a maintained school and I am thinking of applying to a Indie pre-pep school. I am just a bit confused or maybe concerned that it won't be right for me.
    Here are my concerns. Does salary dependant on experience relate to my general teaching experience ( I am ups1) or experience in that job role? The job is a Foundation Stage teacher, I do not have as much experience here as I do in Key Stage 2.
    Secondly, this probably sounds a bit silly! I am worried that I will not fit in. I'm concerned that I come from a working class family and have very little experience of Indie education.
    I also read that Independants don't usually welcome visits but I really would like to, should I just ask?
    Finally I am worried that I am being swayed to apply for the wrong reasons. Really wanting to leave my present school quickly, they offer full child care benefits, class sizes will be smaller and holidays longer.
    Has anyone else taught Foundation Stage in an Independant or had a similar move from Maintained to Independant?
    Thank-you for reading my long post!

2. obie77

obie77 New commenter

Apologies for spelling mistakes! I clearly should have not written this when tired!

3. TheoGriff

TheoGriff Star commenter

Firstly, you need to do some research.
    On here!
    Open the Welcome thread and read the clickables inside.
    Have a browse of other posts. Do a search on Maintained and State - that should bring up posts where people discuss their very varied views!