1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Dear Stephen

Discussion in 'Thinking of teaching' started by ellis_j, Dec 7, 2011.

1. Hello Stephen,
    I am currently considering a career change into teaching, having already put in my application to join a Health and Social Care SCITT course (I have a Social Science degree).
    I have a few queries/concerns I'm hoping you can help with....
    1. I have worked in the private industry as a Senior Project Manager for c15 years. I have a very successful career with many buisness related qualifications (Management L4, Associate member of Chartered Institute of Personnel and Development, PRINCE 2 Project Management practitioner...it goes on), and I have managed projects across many different business areas - HR, IT, Finance, Cust Service, Org Design, Marketing etc. I would love to think this experience could also be put to some use as a Business Studies teacher, would schools consider me for this subject based on experience rather than my degree subject and ITT course?
    I am also passionate about my ITT course subject, so would like to think I could do a bit of both. I'm conscious that my work experience doesn't relate to my ITT course, so I am also looking into some voluntary working opportunities in the health/care sector. I'm aiming to make my CV/experience as good as possible as I cannot afford to complete my training and be unemployed (family/mortgage etc); which brings me to my next query........