1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Dear Stephen , Purpose of Govs visits to classes

Discussion in 'Governors' started by samtheman, May 5, 2012.

1. <table cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0"><tr><td class="post">I am a Teacher Governor at a school that has just had an Ofsted. At a recent FGB the HT directed the Govs that they needed to be dropping into classes more frequently and unnanounced to see what is going on. Fair point. Then he went on to say that the Govs needed to be asking to see children's books. Then finally he stated he wanted the Govs to report back to him if he felt there were inadequacies , problems, etc . Is this part of a Gov's remit? I always felt there was no judgement to be made by Govs on visiting classes.
    </td></tr></table>

2. <table cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0"><tr><td class="post">I am a Teacher Governor at a school that has just had an Ofsted. At a recent FGB the HT directed the Govs that they needed to be dropping into classes more frequently and unnanounced to see what is going on. Fair point. Then he went on to say that the Govs needed to be asking to see children's books. Then finally he stated he wanted the Govs to report back to him if he felt there were inadequacies , problems, etc . Is this part of a Gov's remit? I always felt there was no judgement to be made by Govs on visiting classes.
    </td></tr></table>

3. harsh-but-fair

harsh-but-fair Star commenter

The main purpose is to see if teachers are repeating themselves ...[​IMG]

4. Not sure what you mean?!

5. staxis

staxis New commenter