1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Dear Stephen - GTP

Discussion in 'Thinking of teaching' started by anon1274, Jan 9, 2012.

1. I am a career changer, having left the Armed Forces after 16 years. I have a bachelors and a masters degree in business related subjects and I really do want to teach. Having been accepted for a GTP 2 weeks ago the university has now said it won't be running the course. Understandably I am gutted and have gone back to the drawing board.
    Still searching for a school to take me on, with confidence that I can find an alternative training provider (!) I have stumbled upon a role at a local school for an Opening Minds teacher to work with Y7 and 8. The Opening Minds programme looks right up my street, very much akin to my personal philosphies about what education should be. The school would also accept a GTP candidate for the role. The downsides are that I'm not always the most creative person and younger puils are less my scene than the older ones.
    I feel like I very much want to apply for this job but my greater interest is with older pupils. On the plus side, after the year I would have my QTS and I could then hunt for a Business Studies position, which is what I ultimately would like. Alternatively I would surprise myself and enjoy year 7s and 8s.
    My question is, am I deluding myself? Should I stick to my original plan and find myself a place for Business Studies teaching? Or could a year on Opening Minds be a good pathway?

2. Hi