1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Dear Stephen - Getting into Teaching

Discussion in 'Thinking of teaching' started by rachel104, Nov 29, 2011.

1. Dear Stephen
    I recently graduated with a First Class Honours degree in Popular Music. I am desperate to get into teaching as I am passionate about my subject and I would love to teach.
    I was a mature student and have had other jobs throughout my education which do not directly relate to music/teaching. However, I do have experience in teaching guitar (one on one and in groups) with ages 4 to 40+. In my other jobs I have often been put forward to conduct staff training as I have always been keen to teach others. I do not currently have any classroom experience although this is something I am actively pursuing. I have found this difficult to secure, especially having recently relocated to London with few reliable contacts.
    I have been considering the SCCD (Schools Courses & Career Development) who "offer Preparing to Teach in Compulsory Education fully accredited and affords trainees the opportunity to be hired by schools as unqualified teachers." I have been told that they will be able to secure me a 2 week placement with a school, after which the school will decide if they want to keep me as an unqualified teacher, hopefully with a view to embarking upon the GTP as soon as possible. Do you know how realistic this is?
    I am really confused about the options that are actually available to me. I am really keen to get some classroom experience but just keep coming up against a brick wall and without this I have been led to believ e that I will not be considered for the PGCE or GTP.