1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Dear Sage- PGCE Student taking over a class from an NQT

Discussion in 'Trainee and student teachers' started by HollyDolly21, Mar 16, 2012.

1. Hi Sage and everybody else too, would be really grateful for any advice on this at all. I am a PGCE secondary student on main placement, generally doing well in all areas including behaviour management but having huge problems with just one class in particular.

There were already some behaviour problems in the class before I took over and there had been some HoD intervention with the usual class teacher, but obviously when the HoD was there the kids behaved perfectly. Things have really deteriorated since I took over a few weeks ago. The kids are reasonably low ability so many of them are very resistant to the change (even though they don't particularly have a good relationship with their normal class teacher) and are being very defiant, not getting through any work and some just outright rude to me.

On one hand I am told to follow the school warnings and sanctions system, but realistically if I did this properly I would have at least 10 out of 30 kids out of the room in each lesson. Also the times when I have used it and 2-3 pupils have been sent out for pretty major disruption/aggressive behaviour, the detentions have been cancelled by the HoD which means the worst kids now just think whatever I say is irerelevant and going to be over-ruled by her. She keeps saying 'don't worry, I will deal with them' but when I ask her she has never followed up on it, or if she has it has been a 'friendly chat' so the kids haven't had any punishment whatsoever for their behaviour.