1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Dear Sage / Anyone who can help - Cover letters and job applications

Discussion in 'Trainee and student teachers' started by sadie_hunt, Mar 31, 2012.

1. I am in my final year of a 3 year primary teaching degree and about to start my final teaching placement block. I am now starting to look and apply for jobs. However, I am wondering about the cover letters that are asked for with the completed applications. I have never had to write a cover letter before as the jobs I have had previously have never asked for one. I am unsure what needs to be included or the general tone or structure :S Are there any websites with tips/examples or does anyone have any tips?

2. I am in my final year of a 3 year primary teaching degree and about to start my final teaching placement block. I am now starting to look and apply for jobs. However, I am wondering about the cover letters that are asked for with the completed applications. I have never had to write a cover letter before as the jobs I have had previously have never asked for one. I am unsure what needs to be included or the general tone or structure :S Are there any websites with tips/examples or does anyone have any tips?

3. Reading application letters is one of my favourite things to do. Love shortlisting and interviewing.
    My advice to you would be to start your letter with the phrase, please accept this letter in support of my application for the post you're applying for - use the words they used in the advert.