1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Dear James,

Discussion in 'Trainee and student teachers' started by dandyr, Mar 4, 2011.

1. I am a student on a ks2/3 teaching degree.

I am in my final year of the degree. I did my final teaching placements in the Spring term of last year (2010), which I failed. There was some disputes, conflict of personalities and a lack of support given by my mentor and class teachers there.
    I have just done a referral placement this year which was going relatively well up until the end of the 4th week or so when I was put on measures due to my explanations and subject knowledge. I ended up failing the referral placement too, my subject knowledge and explanations in parts of Science, RE and PE were highlighted as the points which contributed to the failure.
    I did not tell any of the staff members in my referral placement school that I had failed my previous placement. When my liaison tutor from my university came to see me on her first visit in the referral placement, she gave the report form from my last years' failed placement and did inform the staff that it wasn't my first go at the final placement.
    On the liaison tutors second visit to observe my teaching, she told the staff not to provide me with any of the schools teaching resources to plan my lessons with and so from the mid-way point in the 5th week I was on my own with finding my own resources etc. I had already planned the lessons for the rest of that week but these all had to change due to me having to find my own resources. I had a few bad lessons with a few grade 3 lessons during the rest of that week; compared to at the beginning of the week where I had taught some grade 2 ('good') lessons.