1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Dear James

Discussion in 'Trainee and student teachers' started by GRoberts68, Jan 13, 2011.

1. Hello,
    I'm currently half way through my Maths PGCE and I'm studying in Manchester. I plan to move to London over the summer but don't knoe much about the different LA's. So my first question would be whether you could advise of any LA's that offer good support to NQT's and generally have good schools. In the same way are their any LA's that notoriously have many schools with behavioural problems? I appreciate each LA will have a range of different schools but I would value any advice you can offer. I'm very flexible on where I can work in London.
    Secondly, I'd like to ask about NQT pools. I am aware that the teaching recruitment process differs to other industries in that you are expected to take the job when offered. Does the same thing apply for NQT pools. I'm concerned I could apply for a jobs pool in an LA that has many good schools and then find they offer a job in a notoriously bad school which I would be expected to accept. Also if this is the case do LA's use jobs pools as a means of filling positions that would normally be difficult to fill?
    The idea of an NQT pool does appeal because it should reduce the number of expensive trips from Manchester to London for interviews. That said, I dont want to end up in a school I'm not happy in because I'm expected to accept a job offer for any school in the LA.

2. Sillow

Sillow Senior commenter