1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Dear James- what can I do?

Discussion in 'New teachers' started by upsydaisy25, May 21, 2011.

1. Dear James,
    I am currently a student teacher who has been for in excess of 13 interviews for teaching jobs, nearly always coming second (and actually being told that).
    Personally I have had a very difficult time recently, I am a carer for elderly relatives one of whom has recently died and another who has mental health issues. I attended the funeral of one of my relatives this week. The funeral affected me really badly and I took a few days out of school to help me deal with the worst of it. I was struggling to cope with everything and really didn't know which way was up and which way was down.
    During this time I was offered an interview, which I felt that I needed to go to given the large number of unsuccessful interivews I had been to, despite not being over my current difficulties. The interview was for a permenant position at the school. My lesson did not go very well, but I was still taken through to interview. The school seemed nice and the staff in the department were lovely. I was interviewed. They appointed 2 people and I am not sure the specifics of the other persons offer. I was offered the job and told that I would also have to do some teaching at the other school in the federation (this was not mentioned until I was offered at job and had asked about the connection between the schools during the day). I was asked for my answer and I accepted the job.