1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Dear James: Question on PGCE working hours!

Discussion in 'Trainee and student teachers' started by eannie, Jun 15, 2011.

1. Hi James
    I commence teacher training (secondary English) this September. I was wondering what sort of hours I'd be putting in on a regular basis?
    I graduated with an OU degree last year. Whilst doing my degree over the past 4 years or so, I've been holding down a full time job in the city (working hours often 7.30 until 5.30pm) plus studying at home, plus brining up our little girl and I've managed with no problems at all.
    I guess what I'd like to know, is whether the hours will be any worse than this? Typically, I'd get home in the evenings, then study for about an hour and a half.
    Am I right to expect the same amount of hours, but with additional hours at the weekends for lesson planning?
    One thing in my favour is that I'm extremely well organised - I'm hoping this will save me a bit of time, and the fact that I'm used to home study alreday!
    Your help would be greatly appreciated.
    With kind regards

eannie

2. PaulDG

PaulDG Occasional commenter

Organisation is extremely important but the one thing that's different from your previous OU experience is that you were only doing "new" (i.e. new to you) stuff during those coupleof hours a night you did the OU stuff - no doubt you already had your day job fully under control.
    Your PGCE is likely to begin farily gently and you'll wonder why people say it's so hard during the first couple of weeks and then you'll start to realise you're already slipping behind!