1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Dear James - PGCE/PGDE

Discussion in 'Trainee and student teachers' started by gemmamarie08, Apr 1, 2009.

1. gemmamarie08

gemmamarie08 New commenter

Hi James,
    I am a potential Physics teacher and almost ready to send the application off. The University I want to make my first choice is in Wales and offers the PGDE course in Secondary.
    Could you explain the difference between the PGCE and PGDE please? Their prospectus doesn't go into much detail and I don't want to limit my chances of getting a job after the course. I would more than likely return to England to teach as I cannot speak Welsh but they say the course leads to QTS and allows you to teach in England.
    Thanks

gemma

2. Ok Gemma, here we go...
    You need to realise that there are two parts to a teaching qualification. There is the academic part which is assessed and awarded by the institution you are registered with, e.g. a university or college, which is known as a PGCE/PGDE and there is the professional part which is qualified teacher status (QTS). QTS which is conferred by the genreal teaching council of England (or Wales or Scotland or Northern Ireland) and not the university - they just recommend you for QTS.
    The PGCE in England can come in two forms