1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Dear James PGCE PASS degree

Discussion in 'Trainee and student teachers' started by Gemini_10, May 18, 2010.

1. I have applied to two SCITT providers to start a Early Years PGCE in Sept 2010, but unfortunately, I was unsuccessful in both interviews. I also applied to a couple of other SCITT providers but was turned down before interview.

For the last interview, the feedback that I got was that I achieved an overall 64% but I needed 68% to get on to the course. I actually scored 77% on my interview but my presentation let me down because it was too wordy (in hindsight, I would have to agree). However the fact that I only achieved a PASS in my degree when I graduated in 2003 had already set me back.

I'm gutted that I haven’t got a place but am extremely concerned about what the Conservatives Policy (all new teachers must have at least a 2:2 to get on to a state funded PGCE course) will mean for me. I accept that all PGCE providers have a right to be concerned about a third/PASS but I don't think that they should exclude me on that basis. I have a lot to offer and I think I would be brilliant as a Teacher. I'm very committed, focused, hard working, motivated and organised. These are all the qualities that I lacked when I was younger (especially organisational skills). I'm very aware of the difficulties faced by PGCE students and Teachers; I've been browsing this forum for months and I have spoken to a few Teachers and PGCE students, but I know that I have what it takes to be a good Teacher. My degree does not take away my ability to enthuse young children.