1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Dear James, I am a NQT 4 months pregnant looking for work, what should I do?

Discussion in 'Trainee and student teachers' started by mpivm, Jun 27, 2011.

1. Dear James,

I am a Newly Qualified Teacher that it is 4 months pregnant. Shortly, I will be having an interview for a long term supply post that will possibly be for a whole year. The problem is that I am due to give birth in December. I just do not know what to do because if I talk to the school about my situation, they probably will not give me the position; on the other hand, if I do not say anything, I do not think it will be legal neither. I have been in contact with my union and they do not seem to know what to tell me. They just congratulate me! Should I wait to apply for a long term position after the baby is born; or is it ok to apply now? I would really appreciate your help.
    Thank you.

2. Middlemarch

Middlemarch Star commenter

In theory, you do not need to tell the school your situation. However, as this is a supply post, you are not in a position to actually take it up for the period when the school requires you (leaving them in the bizarre position of having to advertise for a supply teacher to cover a supply teacher).
    My advice is seek a post after your baby is born.

3. Hi