1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Dear James: history - toy sorting HELP - reception

Discussion in 'Primary' started by lauly, Jan 14, 2012.

1. Hello everyone!

I am a PGCE student and I have my university tutor coming in to observe me on Monday. I was just given my lessons for next week yesterday and have found out my obs lesson is one of my history lessons.
    The subject I have planned for the lesson is baby toys (so THEIR history) - so I am providing a range of 'baby' toys for them to become familiar with and for the intro/input I am wanting to provide them with sorting criteria to help them sort the baby toys from the non-baby toys.
    I was wondering if you could give me some advice as to some sorting criteria for my session as I want to make sure I get this session 'on the nose'. I have, in the past, had probems with the LO and am despirate to make a good impression. My LO is:

Use everyday words/phrases
    to describe toys from their past. Sort into baby toys and non-baby toys. Do you think this is ok? Or should I re-jig it?
    So I was thinking baby toys are: (for their sorting criteria)
    bright
    colourful
    soft (some are)
    easy to use
    chunky (easy to hold)
    material books - not paper
    educational

Do you think any others are pertinent or any of these are incorrect? have I missed any glaringly obvious ones?
    Also - I am not sure what to do for the other adult activity - I have
    also been criticised in the past for not correctly using the addn adult
    so want to make sure I put her to best use also. Do you think a IWB sorting activity would be good for her groups - though I was going to do that as the plenary.