1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Dear James, Do many NQTs move schools after the NQT year?

Discussion in 'New teachers' started by BB2009, Mar 20, 2011.

1. Hello,
    I am currently trying to decide whether to apply for positions at other schools as the end of the NQT year is fast approaching! I know I am lucky to have a job at the moment but I feel the school is not the right school for me. I'm not sure if I should try to move on now or if I should wait until I have two years experience in one school. Before I took my PGCE I had moved around the country a lot and so I have many short term jobs on my CV and I am concerend that trying to leave after just one year will make it look as though I can't stay in one job for long! I'm also worried about how I will be treated once I tell the school I would like to leave after one year, especially if I don't find another job. On the other hand I love teaching and would really love the opportunity to work in a different environment to the one I am in now. Any advice or first hand experience would be welcome. Is anyone else having similar thoughts? Thank you.

2. Clearly I'm not James, but... I'd leave now while you're still cheap.Tell the new school in your interview that the school you're at isn't the right one for you for whatever reason. Tell them that you're now looking for the right school to stay at for a long time. That won't reflect badly on you. Don't waste a year in the wrong job just because you are worried how it might look. As far as your school are concerned, I am sure if you are careful and tactful in your wording when you write to the head to explain that you're looking for other jobs, it'll be okay.

3. minnieminx