1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Dear James- days off sick on PGCE

Discussion in 'Trainee and student teachers' started by RamC, May 15, 2011.

1. Dear James

I am a mature student who also happens to have long term chronic health problems. I'm doing a primary PGCE in Wales and my health has been quite poor, due to the high work load and stress levels. In my first placement I missed 10 days due to a chest infection, and I've just had another day in my final placement off due to conjunctivitis. In all other respects I've done well, getting all top marks and excellent feedback. I'm managing to keep on top of the 80% planning and teaching, but if I haven't done the required amount of days I'll have to retake next year won't I? I've had very stressful and time consuming jobs before (working in early intervention with children with additional needs), and I am passionate about continuing my journey into teaching, whether full or part time. I just don't think I could stand to defer and have to go through this all over again. How many days should I have completed on placement? Thank you for your help. Becca

2. In England, for primary PGCE you need 90 school days. I don't know what the figure is for Wales, but expect it to be similar. Usually a uni builds in a few extra days to account for illness and other unavoidable absences, and they can even take account of teaching experience gained prior to PGCE. It is at the discretion of your training provider. I'd have thought if you are meeting the standards and making expected progress, it will not be an issue but do speak to your uni tutor about it.