1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Dear James... Could I lose my QTS?

Discussion in 'Trainee and student teachers' started by Shuey, May 4, 2010.

1. Hi James,

Wondering if you or anyone else on the forums can help. To cut a very long story short I'm in my final year at University, I gave up a very good job to follow my dream to be a teacher and had a brilliant first three years achieving good grades although I always found placement hard work I loved teaching. In my final fourth year placement I had what I can only describe as a confidence destroying time. I left placement with only a few weeks to go due not being able to sleep and having a bit of a melt down due to the way I was treated which has resulted in me having to defer my placement.

The problem I have is that I am moving to the opposite side of the country and can't do my placement when Uni want me too, they are also refusing to allow me to do it now (before I leave) due to 'academic reasons and the feeling that I couldn't meet the standards required in a final placement' (It has been to student union, committee etc all to no avil.) I have had confirmation from both teachers and Head Teachers that this is not the case however it has made no difference. I am in such a mess and I now feel that I stand to loss everything I have worked so hard for.

Is there anything I can do? If I just take my degree and lose my QTS is there any other way into teaching (bearing in mind I already have three years of QTS standards).

Teaching has been my life for the last six years (as I had to defer when I had my baby) and I can't believe there is nothing more I can do.

2. Hi