1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Dear Headtachers - Why I left teaching - Tips and Advice

Discussion in 'Headteachers' started by claire20000, Feb 6, 2012.

1. I am a student educated to Masters degree level in mathematics.
    Naturally, therefore, most people expected me to go out into business and earn lost of money.
    I did 2 years in business before moving into teaching, which I had also thought about after university and felt I was missing out on my true calling.
    I did a proper PGCE and my salary dropped to £21,000 as a starting salary for teaching the next year.
    During my time I felt that there is too much "awkwardness" from staff - there is no team atmosphere - just a "fake one" in order to "show" that they are co-operating with each other. Too much paranoia from teachers and the kind of "back stabbing" that you may expecti in business. In truth, it felt like I was in what must have been the 1950's business world, but in teaching. The true business world is not like this anymore. But teaching felt stuck in the past.
    My first expereince as a teacher who was rude and awkward to me simply becasue she has felt that I had taken her job. They couldn't offer it to her as she didn't have a PGCE. How was I even to know what was going on?
    My second experience was with a teacher who seemed nice but then turned so dramatically when she saw my BMW. I had bough most of that from my 2 years in business but was still paying it off. I am by no means rich, I think it was pure jealousy. She was fine up until that point with me. But how dare I suggest such a think, right?