1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Dear Graham, PGCE Health and Social Care advice

Discussion in 'Thinking of teaching' started by Gian, Dec 7, 2010.

1. Hello! I have been working as a TA for over 10 years and have completed a degree aimed at teaching assistants. However, my career has not particularly developed during this time therefore I have decided to do a PGCE, hopefully to teach Health and Social Care in Secondary schools. I have been assisting with the teaching of the Diploma in Health& Social Care at the secondary school where I work to gain experience but am having difficulties in finding a relevant PGCE subject course within travelling distance from home (I live in Lancashire) - I am hoping to do a part time course whilst working or, failing that, a distance learning course.
    The teacher I have been working with did her PGCE at a local college which would be ideal however, the only PGCEs on offer are in the lifelong learning sector and although she is employed as a secondary teacher she is only paid the same amount as me, a level 3 teaching assistant, as she does not have QTS.
    At the moment I feel unable to progress with my career and wonder whether you could advise me?
    Do you know of any distance learning courses for Health and Social Care PGCEs? I have searched the internet with no luck.
    Additionally, do you know whether there is a way of completing a PGCE in the lifelong learning sector and then converting it into QTS?
    Thanking you, in anticipation