1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Dear Clare - How to deal with angry governors?

Discussion in 'Governors' started by jayjaysmith, May 23, 2011.

1. Hi Clare -
    I have recently become a Community Governor on one of my local school's Board of Governors. I am also an experienced classroom teacher.
    During the first meeting that I attended an emotional issue was raised that led to anger and personal abuse amongst some of the other governors. I was shocked by the behaviour but choose to sit back and observe, as I was unfamiliar with the issues being raised.
    If this behaviour occurs again, I will intervene. Obviously, I will state my opinion but I am wondering if there are any guidelines about how best to go about doing this? Also, who is responsible, on the governing body, to maintain order at meetings? Are their any guidelines as to how they should do this that I could read?
    Thank you for your time.

2. Hi Clare -
    I have recently become a Community Governor on one of my local school's Board of Governors. I am also an experienced classroom teacher.
    During the first meeting that I attended an emotional issue was raised that led to anger and personal abuse amongst some of the other governors. I was shocked by the behaviour but choose to sit back and observe, as I was unfamiliar with the issues being raised.
    If this behaviour occurs again, I will intervene. Obviously, I will state my opinion but I am wondering if there are any guidelines about how best to go about doing this? Also, who is responsible, on the governing body, to maintain order at meetings? Are their any guidelines as to how they should do this that I could read?
    Thank you for your time.

3. Rott Weiler