1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Dear Clare - Headteacher budget manipulation?

Discussion in 'Governors' started by concernedgovernor, Feb 10, 2011.

1. Dear Clare,
    I am a Teacher Governor and therefore have access to financial information regarding my school.
    During a recent meeting the Head and school adminstrator fedback information regarding school budget/ expenditure. They indicated (using documents to support what they said) that they had employed a particular person (spouse of an assistant head, who was recently made redundant from his job) as a Level One Teaching Assistant from the 5th of January 2011. This is fine, however the person in question has never been seen to enter a classroom in the capacity of a teaching assistant/ to support education.
    It is commonly known that he only undertakes maintenance/ caretaker like work around the school. In addition to this the school has three caretakers already. Two full time and one whom I think works part time.
    I spoke to the another assistant head recently, who is in charge of support allocation for the whole school, in order to have some provision for my class and she had no knowledge of this person being employed as a Level 1 Teaching Assistant.
    On the basis of the information provided by the Head I have strong suspicions that laws are being violated.
    What do you think?

2. harsh-but-fair

harsh-but-fair Lead commenter

Hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm..............

3. Which laws do you think are being violated?

4. Rott Weiler

Rott Weiler Star commenter Forum guide