1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Dealing with Apply 2

Discussion in 'Thinking of teaching' started by vvamadeva, Feb 8, 2017.

1. vvamadeva

vvamadeva New commenter

I'm kind of new to this site generally, so I'm not too sure of how to go about things:confused:, especially with posting a new thread of my own, but anyway, here goes...
    So, I'm in my final year of university (I'm studying psychology) and I'm hoping to get onto a PGCE programme for after graduation (so a programme starting in Sept 2017). Unfortunately, with the three choices I applied for, I've been deemed 'unsuccessful' for all three-two of them after giving me an interviews, one of them declining me without giving me an interview, so now I've been put into the Apply 2 cycle.
    I'm going to be looking at possible unis that still have space this weekend, and start to see if there are any that would still be suitable for me to apply to, but first I guess I need to know how apply 2 works. From looking at information on UCAS, I understand that with Apply 2, you can add one additional choice at a time, and that those choices have the same 40 working days to reply to you as with Apply 1. But the things that weren't clear are these:
    • Do they have to take the exact 40 days to decide, as opposed to in Apply 1, where they can reply before (all of my Apply 1 decisions came before the end of my 40 working days)? Or is it also possible they may make a decision before? All UCAS says about response times is that it's 40 days but that 'in Apply 1, they don't have to take the full 40 working days'.