1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Dealing effectively with sexual innuendo from adolescent boys

Discussion in 'Secondary' started by CharlesEkin, Apr 20, 2016.

1. CharlesEkin

CharlesEkin New commenter

Hello
    I am a male teacher who is challenged by a mixed class where the boys, and only the boys, constantly snigger or wink at even the most tenuous sexual reference. I remember myself as a teenager going through this phase. It's probably a stage that most boys go through to a greater or lesser degree, I would imagine, but as the teacher wishing everyone to benefit as much as possible from the topic in hand, I am finding this very boring and disruptive. Part of me wants to get the offenders to stand up and say bulge, big, hard, etc 100 times to get it out of their system but I don't think this would be very effective. Does anyone have any effective strategies, please? I don't, at the moment, have the wherewithal to ignore it. I am totally at ease with being candid if necessary and am very happy to try the controversial or the leftfield approach.
    Many thanks
    Charlie

2. sparkleghirl

sparkleghirl Star commenter

I know that they may behave differently with different teachers or differently with male/female members of staff, but for what it's worth..