1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

dazed and confused supply teacher

Discussion in 'Behaviour' started by dhamilton944, Jan 18, 2012.

1. dhamilton944

dhamilton944 New commenter

Ive been teaching for four years now, exclusively in very good grammar schools, and loved these experiences. My classes had excellent results, i had good rapport with the kids and lots of positive comments on parents evenings etc. Now I am doing a maternity cover in a secondary school until june and find myself shocked at just how different it is. Ive im a secondary school boy myself but cant remember it being like this - I have two or three pretty difficult classes and others with two or three exponents of low level stuff and tbh i feel worn down already and only began in November! My patience is wearing thin with kids who lack respect, manners and cant do simple things like listen quietly! Ive started things like seating plans, 3 strikes, lunchtime dts etc but dont honestly know if i have the energy to follow these through since i have a constant voice in my head saying your here for 5 more months and wont see these kids again. Then i feel bad for thinking that and start doubting my abilities.

I teach art and the worst part is i feel like i am really diluting my lessons because doing a demo for any more than a minute just cant be done with most classes, and i therefore dont go into anywhere near the depth id like to or have done before. Its at the stage where i couldnt see myself working in a secondary environment again but know this would really limit future job opportunities. I just dont enjoy this type of teaching- i want to teach art, not feel like a