1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Daughter going to 2ndry school - advice if you can...

Discussion in 'Mathematics' started by howie1000, Jul 15, 2012.

1. howie1000

howie1000 New commenter

Hi, I'm an ICT teacher looking for advice.

My daughter has just left primary school and is going to the local 2ndry school which is quite a nice school, I think (it's hard to get a good idea from outside, even as a teacher, I reckon) but it has an outstanding Ofsted (whatever that's worth) and 75%+ 5 A-C inc English and Maths.

She left primary school with a Maths level 4 - her teacher says right in the middle of 4.

Now, in 2ndry school she will be assessed towards Xmas and setted for Maths - I would prefer this to be in a higher group (to avoid the denizens in the lower groups).

Now, could you help me?

What set do you think she is likely to go into in an above average comp?

What strategies / books / other resources would be best to allow me and the missis, her parents to help her raise her game over the next few months?

I'm not a pushy parent but she did languish in the bottom set for maths at primary school and we live in an Asian area where tutoring is ubiquitous and distorts the outcomes and settings throughout the local school systems.

Sorry for butting into your forum...

2. howie1000

howie1000 New commenter

Hi, I'm an ICT teacher looking for advice.

My daughter has just left primary school and is going to the local 2ndry school which is quite a nice school, I think (it's hard to get a good idea from outside, even as a teacher, I reckon) but it has an outstanding Ofsted (whatever that's worth) and 75%+ 5 A-C inc English and Maths.