1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Daily VCOP sessions - how do you do it in your class?

Discussion in 'Primary' started by willow216, Apr 11, 2012.

1. I am fairly new to Big Write, but really want to get to grips with it this term. Where do you fit VCOP sessions into your day, and for long do they usually last?
    Some ideas of what you do and how often would be fab too! Not sure where to start!

Thanks so much

2. At our school we do VCOP for 10 mins every day before literacy. A bit like an OM starter for maths!
    I went to the Big Write training with Ros Wilson last term and she talked about 'bells activities' - basically when you have 5 minutes when you are lining up for the bell etc it is a perfect opportunity to do VCOP tasks to reinforce what we have been doing.
    Hope that helps

3. minnieminx

minnieminx New commenter

That's what we do, 5-10 mins is all.
    Hmmm some people (usually those running commercial training as opposed to those who are actually teachers in classrooms in 2012) are clueless about timings. When do we ever spend 5 whole minutes lining up? 20 seconds is about it.

And you could go to the Big Maths training (same company) and they'll say the same thing.

Then a phonics/spelling company will say the same thing.

4. Thank you both for your comments.

Is the 5/10 minutes spent on VCOP related to the literacy that follows?
    Thanks again

5. cariad2

cariad2 New commenter

6. minnieminx

minnieminx New commenter

Sometimes, sometimes not. Just like a starter in maths.

7. Haha, I agree Minnie that it SHOULDN'T take 5 minutes to line up but unfortunately for us it does.