1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Daily rates v long term rates?

Discussion in 'Supply teaching' started by clairemullen, Dec 19, 2019.

1. clairemullen

clairemullen New commenter

Good evening. I'm new to supply teaching and just want some guidance on pay and conditions please: should I expect to be paid a higher rate when undertaking long term positions that require marking, a tutor group, duties, meetings and parents' evenings? Agencies tell me they negotiate with the school but the best they have come up with is £12 per day more than a daily rate without these responsibilities. Is this the current state of affairs for most of you? I realise that UPS3 pay is unlikely even after the 12 week clause but £60 per week extra for working as what is essentially a fully fledged member of the department seems very unfair. What do you think guys? Thank you.

2. Jesmond12

Jesmond12 Star commenter

When my SBM was negotiating rates with agencies ( I had the final say) we would pay a lower rate if the cover was long term.

Our reason being that the booking was long term and guaranteed. We would pay extra if the member of staff was required to attend a parents evening and we would pay the daily rate if we wanted the supply to attend INSET.

If you really want the booking then I would play hardball with the agency. Tell them what you want and stick with it. I do daily primary supply but if I accepted a longer term booking then I would expect around £20 more than my usual daily rate.

Make sure that you get PPA time.

3. Deirds

Deirds Senior commenter

Do I take it you have a different perspective these days?