1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Curriculum

Discussion in 'Teaching abroad' started by 402will402, Mar 21, 2019.

Tags:
  1. 402will402

402will402 New commenter

Hi. I’m just starting out on my international school journey. Planning to go international for my whole career. I have a question about Curricula.

I’m seeing different curriculums being mentioned with different jobs. British, IB ect.

My question is, is it better to stick with one curriculum throughout? Is experience in a particular curriculum more valuable than any other? I’ve read that IB experience is pretty hot?

Apologize if this question has already been covered. I couldn’t find a search function.

2. dumbbells66

dumbbells66 Lead commenter

While its not uncommon to jump between curriculums, a good grounding in one or the other would be the preference for most schools.

What you should consider is the difference between them. The IB is significantly bigger than the British system, therefore there is much greater employment opportunities.

george1963 likes this.
  3. the hippo

the hippo Lead commenter Community helper

Yup, dumbbells66 is right. There are probably more IB schools out there than British curriculum schools. Even more importantly, the IB ones often pay better!

george1963 likes this.
  4. SecondPlace

SecondPlace Occasional commenter

To quote from a previous thread: 'Yuck! This sort of thread on the TES makes me feel sick. If the only thing you really care about is money, then why are you a teacher? Why not stay in the UK, if you are not interested in experiencing different countries, languages and cultures?'

Make your mind up pal.

5. george1963

george1963 Occasional commenter