1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Current NQT looking to teach abroad

Discussion in 'Teaching abroad' started by becky_powell94, Oct 23, 2018.

1. becky_powell94

becky_powell94 New commenter

I'm currently an NQT English teacher who is looking to start working overseas next year. However, most jobs seem to ask for either iGCSE or IB experience, neither of which I have! I do have several years experience Working in schools, teaching GCSE and I have worked abroad. Just wondering if anyone managed to get a job in an international school after their NQT year and how they managed it?

2. teachingmatters1

teachingmatters1 New commenter

The general consensus seems to be that two years experience post PGCE will serve you better when applying for international schools.
    Don’t get me wrong - I understand that this may seem a hellish prospect teaching in the UK for these years. Although, it will provide you with a solid base of experience and the more reputable schools will consider an application from yourself.
    I’m in my second year and am currently applying for international jobs. I never considered teaching in the UK long term but understand the short term pain for long term gain ;)

becky_powell94 likes this.
  3. sparklesparkle

sparklesparkle Established commenter