1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Cupcake icing- what is best?

Discussion in 'Cookery' started by nikkib_1986, Nov 29, 2011.

1. nikkib_1986

nikkib_1986 New commenter

Hi all,
    I'm thinking of baking some christmas tree cupcakes with green icing on the top. I'm a keen baker but have never iced before. Can anyone recommend a type of icing that would work best/ have a recipe they can share?
    Also any tips for the actual icing? I have piping bag and several nozzles to choose from.
    Thanks

2. nikkib_1986

nikkib_1986 New commenter

Hi all,
    I'm thinking of baking some christmas tree cupcakes with green icing on the top. I'm a keen baker but have never iced before. Can anyone recommend a type of icing that would work best/ have a recipe they can share?
    Also any tips for the actual icing? I have piping bag and several nozzles to choose from.
    Thanks

3. cinnamonsquare

cinnamonsquare Occasional commenter

My buttercream recipe:

50g butter
    50g trex/other veg fat
    200g icing sugar
    2-3 tbsp milk

and multiples thereof. The above does 12 cakes, but I always make extra if piping because it seems to use more. Using half butter and half trex makes it a bit less sweet and less melty (technical term!).

I'd then use green food dye to colour (I'm a massive fan of sugarflair gel colours - a little goes a long way and they keep for ages).

Would probably use a 1m nozzle for a big swirl (outside in) and then silver balls/stars to be baubles, or a 6B for a different effect - tighter swirl, could probably make the icing more conical/tree-like on top.

Hope that makes sense!

4. landaise

landaise Occasional commenter