1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

CUBISM! any ideas appreciated

Discussion in 'Art and design' started by darcymay, Oct 27, 2009.

1. Hi everyone,

I really didn't want to have to do this but I'm struggling and could do with some help! I'm a PGCE student and about to start teaching on my first placement when we go back on Monday. I have 7 SOW's to plan for a 6 week period and I just can't get any inspiration for my project based on Cubism!!!

It's for a Yr 8 group who have so far been introduced to a few cubist artists and have done a cubism research page. It's now up to me to take over the project for the next 6 weeks (1 hour per week) and take it in any direction I wish. The problem is my inspiration has completely dried up!!!

Has anyone done anything similar and can give me a few pointers that might spark off an idea?

Any ideas will be very much appreciated, I'm starting to get panicked now as time is getting on!

Thanks x x x

2. Forgot to mention that they have previously been looking at architecture within cubism!

3. www.nsead.org/ict/studies/ictac/ADL3Y8CubismLessonPlan.doc

on the NSEAD website there is a lesson plan based over 10 periods, for Yr 8's on cubism and (perspective etc..) Have a look for inspirtation. You could possibly take a few ideas and elaborate on them.

good luck x

4. Get hold of enough sheetsof acetate for all the students and the pens to write in them. Make card frames for the acetate so the syudents effectively have a giant viewfinder. Do drawings around the classroom or school by holding up the viewfinder and drawing directly on to itwith the ohp pens.